AIH Awards 2018: Former Governor General Wins Top Horticulture Award

Australia’s 24th Governor General Major General the Honourable Michael Jeffery has been chosen as the winner of the prestigious Silver Gum Award at the 58th Australian Institute of Horticulture (AIH) Awards at the Mercure Gold Coast Resort on Saturday October 27.

General Jeffery’s AIH Silver Gum Award for his Post-Regal work as Australia’s first ever National Advocate for Soil Health joined other skilled horticultural practitioners being acknowledged and rewarded for their work in the profession. Retiring Institute President of four years Wayne van Balen said the quality of project work, high powered skills and the Institute’s Registered Horticulturist accreditation program played a defining role in horticultural practices by members over recent years.

Well known and respected garden educator Annette McFarlane won the top Golden Wattle Award. Acclaimed arborist Jan Allen was the Institute’s Choice of Horticulturist of the Year, Sonny Morrison from Kurri TAFE NSW the Student of the Year. Three high powered AIH Green Space Awards to Noosa, Western Australia and Australia’s biggest Breathing Wall in Melbourne were the standouts of the night’s Awards.

Michael Casey of MJC Horticulture (Melb.) was elected new National President of the Institute.


Contact Michael Casey 0411 520 796

Kim Morris 0409 59 11 33

Comments are closed.