Therapeutic Horticulture Australia Inc. (THA) welcomes the announcement that a new management committee has been appointed to oversee the operations of their recently established national body responsible for guiding the practice of horticultural therapy and therapeutic gardening in Australia.

The management committee represents a strong cross section of people working in the field of therapeutic horticulture with Steven Wells elected as the inaugural President. Steven Wells is currently a guest presenter for ABC Gardening Australia highlighting various aspects of therapeutic horticulture.

“I’m quite excited to be heading a team of people who bring a range of skills and experience to the emerging field of therapeutic horticulture. I’m passionate about this field because I have observed the diversity of people that benefit from engaging with therapeutic gardening programs and gardens and I believe that this is an area of increasing need within our community” Mr Wells said.

Priorities for THA include setting some standards around the practice of therapeutic horticulture, registration of qualified practitioners, guidance with career pathways and advocacy for this field. It is hoped that THA will combine the efforts of Cultivate NSW and Horticultural Therapy South Australia (HTSA) and build a national presence with strength and diversity.

THA will be presenting the Australian Therapeutic Landscapes Conference 2018 in association with Cultivate NSW and HTSA on Friday 26th October at Southern Cross University, Gold Coast Campus, QLD. This year’s theme is “Going Public – encouraging therapeutic horticulture in public spaces”. Keynote speakers from Singapore, USA, UK and NZ will be presenting the evidence supporting a holistic approach to public space design and show examples of healing gardens from around the world.

The website will be ready to go live by May and membership applications will be open for practitioners and interested parties to join.

For more information, interviews and stories contact:
Josh Fergeus – Secretary, THA. or
Steven Wells – President, THA.

Comments are closed.