New executive committee heads up HMAA

Incoming HMAA President, Judy Horton OAM replaces Matt Carroll, who stood down this year.

The HMAA held its AGM for 2023 online with 24 members in attendance. At the meeting, Matthew Carroll stepped down from his role as President. Several long-serving committee members also retired: Deryn Thorpe from Western Australia, Marion Pennicuik from Victoria and Chantal de Vere from Queensland. Jillian Coomb from Queensland also stepped down after serving for one year.

The new President is Judy Horton OAM from New South Wales, who will be well known to all members for her long association with Yates, talkback radio in Sydney and Garden Clubs of Australia as the editor of the magazine Our Gardens.

Also joining the executive are John Colwill (Western Australia), David Furness (Queensland) and Toni Salter (New South Wales). They have joined returning committee members George Hoad AM (New South Wales and Secretary), Chloe Thomson (Victoria), Dianne Hall (South Australia), Annette Irish (Queensland and Treasurer) and Jennifer Stackhouse (Tasmania and Vice-President).

Matt Carroll

At the meeting members voted unanimously to raise the annual membership fee due on July 1, 2024 to $98. The new committee will also investigate the allocation of money towards the betterment of horticultural knowledge and the option of a student membership rate.

The meeting acknowledged the deaths in the past 12 months of HMAA members and gardening colleagues. Vale Ed Bunker, Holly Kerr Forsyth, Hazel King, Bob Melville, Dr Peter Valder and Kevin Walsh.

Leave a Comment